Vote For Equestrian Of The Year

USA Equestrian members are invited to participate in the selection of the
2001 USA Equestrian of the Year. If you are a current member, please visit
<> and cast your ballot
for one of the six Equestrians of Honor who are the finalists for this
distinguished award. The voting will close at 12:00 noon, Friday, January
11, 2002.

Todd Minikus will be representing the Olympic disciplines as the winner of
the William C. Steinkraus Trophy; in the international non-Olympic
disciplines vying for the Becky Grand Hart Trophy, Bryant Pace is the
victor; the Bill Robinson Trophy is awarded to Darrel Kolkman who represents
those in the non-FEI breeds and disciplines; the Emerson Burr Trophy for
outstanding annual achievement in hunter divisions in any breed over fences
goes to Daniel Robertshaw; Dena Lopez is the recipient of the C.J. "June"
Cronan, Jr. Trophy awarded in the under saddle show breeds; and the Barbara
Worth Oakford Trophy for outstanding annual achievement in the non-reining
Western competition goes to Bill Porcher.

The 2001 Equestrian of the Year will be announced Friday, January 11, 2002
at the USA Equestrian Pegasus Dinner during the USA Equestrian Annual
Meeting in Charlotte, NC.


Awarded to the horseman or horsewoman who has excelled above all others in
equestrian competition for the current year, while demonstrating superior
sportsmanship and dedication to the principles, vision, and mission of USA


Five-Gaited Grand Champion, World's Championships - 1st
Five-Gaited Championship, Lexington Junior League - 1st
Five-Gaited Championship, American Royal - 1st
Five-Gaited Championship, Asheville Lions Club - 1st

Darrel Kolkman HACKNEY PONY
UPHA Junior Hackney Pony Classic, Lexington Junior League - 1st
Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving UPHA Classic, Oklahoma Centennial - 1st
Hackney Pony UPHA Classic, Oklahoma Centennial - 1st
Roadster Pony UPHA Classic, Oklahoma Centennial - 1st
Harness Pony UPHA Classic, Oklahoma Centennial - 1st

Todd Minikus JUMPING
$300,000 AGA Championship - 3rd
$175,000 Cargill Grand Prix of the US, San Juan Capistrano - 1st
$100,000 Rolex/USET Show Jumping Championship, Gladstone, NJ - 1st
$100,000 Cosequin® Grand Prix, Ellenville, NY-1st
$100,000 USET Show Jumping Championship - 1st
$100,000 Avis Grand Prix, Ellenville, NY - 2nd
$50,000 Rio Vista Grand Prix, Culpeper, VA -1st
$50,000 Grand Prix of Roanoke, Salem, VA - 1st
$50,000 Budweiser Prix de Penn National, Harrisburg, PA - 2nd
$35,000 Budweiser Speed Derby, San Juan Capistrano, CA - 1st
$30,000 Cana Cup, Calagary, Canada - 1st
$25,000 Bentley Motorcars Grand Prix, San Juan Capistrano, CA - 1st

Bryant Pace REINING
USET Qualifier, Ocala, FL - 1st
Gordyville Breeders Classic, Gifford, IL - 1st
Carolina Classic, Open NRHA Reining, Raleigh, NC - 1st
USET Semi-Finals, Oklahoma City, OK - 1st
NRHA Derby, Open Class, Oklahoma City, OK - 1st
$100,000 Cosequin/ USET Reining Championship, Gladstone, NJ - 1st
NRHA Top 10 standings as of 7/6/01 - 6th

Bill Porcher ARABIAN
Multiple National Championships in Western Pleasure this year
Two Top Fives in Region VII Championships
Fiesta del Mar wins
Scottsdale Arabian Show wins

Daniel Robertshaw HUNTER
Green Working Champion, Tryon Riding & Hunt Club - 2nd
Regular Working Champion, Pinehurst Horse Classic - 1st
Regular Working Champion & Pre-Green Champion, Aiken Spring Classic - 1st
Pennsylvania National Horse Show
Regular Conformation Hunter - 1st
Regular Conformation Hunter Under Saddle - 1st
Regular Conformation Hunter Champion - 1st
Regular Conformation Hunter - 1st
Regular Conformation Hunter Model - 1st

Daytime Phone

Please record my votes as follows:

FIRST CHOICE __________________________
SECOND CHOICE __________________________
THIRD CHOICE __________________________

Please Note: Any violations of the following will result in invalidation of
the ballot.
* Only media contacts to whom this email was directed may vote via this
* Only one (1) ballot per person.
* Ballots must include second and third choices.

Return completed ballot to Sarah Holt ( ) by January 10,


USA Equestrian Inc., as the National Equestrian Federation of the U.S., is the regulatory body for the Olympic and World Championship sports of dressage, driving, endurance, eventing, reining, show jumping, and vaulting, as well as 19 other breeds and disciplines of equestrian competition. As the country's largest multi-breed organization, the Federation has over 77,000 members and recognizes more than 2,800 competitions nationwide each year. It governs all aspects of competition, including educating and licensing all judges, stewards, and technical delegates who officiate at these shows.

Equiworld.Com Copyright Equiworld 2005. Equiworld is a registered trademark in the UK and/or other countries. Equiworld, Hayfield, Aberdeen, Scotland, AB15 8BB

To submit equestrian news items to Equiworld please visit,

To submit links to horse web sites please visit,

Updated: October 2005.