USA Equestrian (formerly AHSA) announced today that Jonathan Phillips from
Potomac, MD, riding Jewel's Idiam won the 2001 BET/AHSA National Junior
Jumper Championships at the Pennsylvania National Horse Show October 13,
2001. The 2001 BET/AHSA Individual National Junior Jumper Championship was
held in two phases on the 11th and the 13th after which the Overall
Individual National Junior Jumper Champion was decided. This championship
is also a USA Junior Olympics - Equestrian Event.

Phillips, 18, beat a field of 26 riders over Richard Jeffery's course to
take the title and $5,000 purse ahead of Morgan Faith from Wayzata, MN, on
Cohiba, owned by Winston Stables. The defending champion, Maggie Jayne from
West Palm Beach, FL., on Kinda Blue, owned by Alex R. Jayne took the bronze

The BET/AHSA Prix Des States Team Championship title was decided on October
12, 2001. The winning team was Zone 3 (MD, WV, VA, NC); Jonathan Phillips
(Jewel's Idiam); Evan Coluccio (Diejasper); Anna McKnight (Marina); Paige
Johnson (Dominique) on 4 faults.
Second place went to Zone 2 (NY, PA, NJ); Danielle Goldstein (Hendrix);
Michelle Pia (Inner Beauty); Meghan Moran (ZMAX); Georgina Bloomberg
(Calgary) on 8 faults.
Third place team was Zone 4 (AL, FL, GA, MS, SC, TN); Charlie Jayne
(Melbourne); Derek Braun (Mandella); Jennifer Urioste (Richochet); Maggie
Jayne (Kinda Blue) on 20 faults.
Fourth placed team was Zone 1 (CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT); Cody Baird
(Orlandia); Lara Gay (Rio's Riccardi); Alexa Weeks (Amaral); Katelyn Denby
(Leonardo 233).

The name of the winning team is inscribed on the Frances Newbill Rowe
Memorial Trophy; named in honor of the top jumper trainer of the 1960's and
'70's. Winning team riders and the individual winner were awarded "keeper"
trophies as well as a Triple Crown Custom awards blanket. Scholarships were
also awarded, with the winning team receiving $750 each, the second place
team - $500 each and the third place team - $250 each. In addition,
individual winners were awarded scholarship money with the first place rider
receiving $1,000; second place $800, third place $700. This year there was
a three-way tie for fourth place with each rider receiving a scholarship for

USA Equestrian Inc., as the National Equestrian Federation of the U.S., is the regulatory body for the Olympic and World Championship sports of dressage, driving, endurance, eventing, reining, show jumping, and vaulting, as well as 19 other breeds and disciplines of equestrian competition. As the country's largest multi-breed organization, the Federation has over 77,000 members and recognizes more than 2,800 competitions nationwide each year. It governs all aspects of competition, including educating and licensing all judges, stewards, and technical delegates who officiate at these shows.

Equiworld.Com Copyright Equiworld 2005. Equiworld is a registered trademark in the UK and/or other countries. Equiworld, Hayfield, Aberdeen, Scotland, AB15 8BB

To submit equestrian news items to Equiworld please visit,

To submit links to horse web sites please visit,

Updated: October 2005.